Jensen Tissue Engineering Award

TERMIS-AM is excited to announce the establishment of the Jensen Tissue Engineering Award - a gift from Dr. Ole T. Jensen, a world-renowned oral surgeon and innovative businessman. The Jensen Tissue Engineering Award has been established “to recognize an individual (anywhere in the world) for sustained scientific contributions, translational impact towards clinical realization and professional distinction in the field of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.” Anyone from the scientific community can be nominated, but, in order to be awarded with this prize, that person must become a member of TERMIS and be nominated by a TERMIS member.  

The award will be issued annually during a TERMIS conference (Americas, Asia-Pacific, Europe or World Congress).  The location of the award issuance will be dependent on the location in which the award recipient resides. The award recipient is expected to give a presentation and must attend the TERMIS Chapter or World Congress conference to be presented with the award.

During the respective Chapter Conference (AM, AP or EU) or World Congress, the recipient of the Jensen Tissue Engineering Award will be presented with a silver medallion and a monetary award of $25,000 USD.

Nomination Package Requirements

The nominator should provide:

  • a summary of the nominee’s achievement(s) in the field of TERM (1-2 pages total), including how these accomplishments fulfil the Jensen award criteria,
  • plus the nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  • An individual cannot apply for the award. 

2024 Submission Deadline:  January 22, 2024


Please send any questions you may have regarding the Jensen Tissue Engineering Award to the Executive Administrator.  Submissions are due by January 22, 2024.

2023 Recipient of the Jensen Tissue Engineering Award

Antonios G. Mikos, PhD

Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering & Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (NAE, NAM)
Director of the Center for Engineering Complex Tissues; Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering & J.W. Cox Laboratory for Biomedical Engineering at Rice University

Antonios G. Mikos is the Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Rice University. His research focuses on the synthesis, processing, and evaluation of new biomaterials for use as scaffolds for tissue engineering, as carriers for controlled drug delivery, as non-viral vectors for gene therapy, and as platforms for disease modeling. His work has led to the development of novel orthopaedic, dental, cardiovascular, neurologic, and ophthalmologic biomaterials. He is the author of over 690 publications and the inventor of 32 patents. Mikos is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Inventors, the Chinese Academy of Engineering, the Academia Europaea, and the Academy of Athens. He has been recognized by various awards including the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society-Americas, the Founders Award of the Society For Biomaterials, the Founders Award of the Controlled Release Society, the Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal, and the Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecturer Award of the Biomedical Engineering Society. He is a Founding Fellow of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society and Past President of the Americas chapter of TERMIS. He is a Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the journal Tissue Engineering.

2022 Recipient of the Jensen Tissue Engineering Award

Stephen F. Badylak, DVM, PhD, MD

Professor in the Department of Surgery, and Deputy

Director of the McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh.

Dr. Badylak has practiced both veterinary and human medicine, and is now fully engaged in research. Dr. Badylak began his academic career at Purdue University in 1983, and subsequently held a variety of positions including service as the Director of the Hillenbrand Biomedical Engineering Center from 1995-1998. 

Dr. Badylak holds over 70 U.S. patents, 300 patents worldwide, has authored more than 400 scientific publications and 60 book chapters, and has  edited two textbooks entitled “Host Response to Biomaterials” and “Immunomodulatory Biomaterials”. He serves as Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Immunology and Regenerative Medicine.  Dr. Badylak has served as the Chair of several study sections at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and has  been a member of the Scientific Advisory Board to several major medical device companies.  He is  the chief scientific officer for ECM-Therapeutics in addition to his professorial role at the University.  More than fifteen million patients have been treated with bioscaffolds developed in Dr. Badylak’s laboratory.

Dr. Badylak is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, a member of the Society for Biomaterials, a charter member of the Tissue Engineering Society International, a past president of the Tissue Engineering Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS) and a Founding International Fellow of TERMIS.

Dr. Badylak’s major research interests include:

  • Naturally Occurring Biomaterials, including Extracellular Matrix, and Host: Biomaterial Interactions
  • Developmental Biology and its Relationship to Regenerative Medicine
  • Relationship of the Innate and Adaptive Immune Responses to Tissue Regeneration
  • Clinical Translation of Regenerative Medicine

Ole T. Jensen Biography

Ole T. Jensen is an Oral Maxillofacial Surgeon who sub-specialized in bone graft reconstruction for the maxillofacial region. He published 6 books on dental implants and bone grafting including the Sinus Bone Graft, Alveolar Distraction Osteogenesis and The Osteoperiostial Flap.

He was Editor in Chief of the Journal of Craniofacial Tissue Engineering. He is section editor of Tissue Engineering in the Journal of Oral Maxillofacial Implants. He is the 2016 recipient of the Branemark Award of the Academy of Osseointegration. He is founding surgeon of Clearchoice Dental Implant Centers. He is Chairman of the Board of Ditron Dental Implants and Vice-Chairman of He and his wife, Marty endowed the chair of Craniofacial Tissue Engineering at the University of Utah School of Dentistry. He and Marty have three children, Sverre, Autumn and Trygve, and 15 grandchildren.